Homes lining the Nagara River, South Kalimantan, Indonesia

Kalimantan – Borneo Map & Orientation

Kalimantan consists of five provinces – north, east, south, central and west each with its own provincial capital respectively – Tarakan, Balikpapan, Banjarmasin, Palangkaraya and Pontianak. Banjarmasin is the biggest city in Kalimantan and also serves as its capital. Famous for its floating markets and canal suburbs it’s well worth including in your Kalimantan adventure holiday itinerary. Balikpapan is the other notable city but not for its tourist attractions. Known as “Oil City” in Indonesia, it has a large population of expat workers and offices for many international oil, mining and support services companies.